Sitting Shiva for One Direction (Day One)

Listening to One Direction after Zayn’s departure from the band is such a torture. I’m still in an endless cycle of I HATE YOU ZAYN and BUT I WANT YOU TO BE HAPPY and I LOVE YOUR FACE

So to soothe the sting of betrayal, I’ll be doing my own version of shiva. Everything I know about shiva, I learned from watching This Is Where I Leave You and the post-Denny death episode of Grey’s Anatomy so for people who haven’t watched either, shiva or sitting shiva is when Jewish mourners get together and sit on small chairs for a week as they grieve the loss of a loved one.

Unfortunately, since my schedule won’t allow me to churn out entries for seven days in a row, I’ll be posting a total of seven One Direction Shiva posts in a span of three months. This is because Popoy from One More Chance says that three months is the respectable amount of time to grieve over and move on from a break-up.

Entries will mostly contain songs they didn’t release as singles that you can enjoy while you reminisce at the five amazing years Harry, Niall, Louis, Liam, and *sob* Zayn has given us.

Let’s start the sobfest.

Spaces (Four)

This song is so apt for the Zayn Leaving depression. It makes you think if they were thinking about a possible band break-up when writing this song. I MEAN, DID TALKS OF GOING IN ANOTHER DIRECTION (lol) START WAY BEFORE THIS?>!? My pain is real.

Spaces between us hold all our secrets / Leaving us speechless and I don’t know why / Who’s gonna be the first to say goodbye?

Change Your Ticket (Four)

Yes, that intro is very reminiscent of The 1975’s Girls. Unlike my friends, I don’t have a lot of love for The 1975 but to quote my little sister: “THIS SONG IS DA BOMB!!!!” Also, please pay attention to the lyrics:

Watching you get dressed / Messes with my head /Take that bag off your shoulder / Come get back in bed / We still got time left / This don’t have to be over

YOU CAN JUST IMAGINE A HALF-NAKED HARRY STYLES IN BED WITH WHITE SHEETS IN ALL OF HIS PERFECT GLORY MAKING CUTESY FACES AT YOU SO YOU WON’T LEAVE

And you say / It’s hard to keep a secret / Girl, don’t leave me all alone in this hotel / And these shades can hide us from the streets, yeah / one weekend / I promise that I’ll never tell

I don’t care about the paparazzi or rumors, JUST LET ME LOVE ALL OF YOU.

Also, this is Zayn’s perfect high note in this song:

Why don’t we take some time / Why don’t we take just a little more time / Why don’t we make it right / Girl, I don’t wanna say goodbye

OO ZAYN PERO UMALIS KA NAG-GOODBYE KA NA LECHE KA

Better Than Words (Midnight Memories)

My sister explained to me that the verses are actually titles of other songs AND THAT ALONE MADE ME LOVE THIS SONG.

Better than words /You drive me crazy/ Someone like you / Always be my baby

It’s just so witty. 😥

Something Great (Midnight Memories)

This song isn’t as amazing as their other songs lyrics wise (wow, dami ko alam eh I’m a songwriter) but whenever this song helps me calm down and look forward for a brighter future. As if I can achieve anything and everything. This is such a positive song even if they’re singing about convincing a girl to get back to bed with them.

Come on, jump out at me / Come on, bring everything / Is it too much to ask for something great?

I swear to God, One Direction saves lives. 😦

ANG  S A K E T

Clouds (Four)

This is the first song on their On The Road Again setlist and it’s the best choice for an opening song!!!!!! When I first heard this, I could imagine them opening their concert with this and I’m so happy that my mind is one with the boys and whoever made that setlist.

This is also a great song for the inevitable One Direction reunion because:

Here we go again / Another go round for all of my friends / Another non-stop / will it ever end / We’re never coming back down / Yeah we’re looking down on the clouds

There you have it! Only six more days to go! In the meantime, take a bow, lads.

ONE DIRECTION BABIES
ONE DIRECTION BABIES
Leave a Reply

