Life Lately: Dreamz~* and Beyonce

Motion City Soundtrack is always there for me whenever I’m lost and have no idea with what I’m doing with my life.

Anyway, life has been such a whirlwind lately and my sudden online absence is a result of that. Nevertheless, things are starting to look up for the Get Your Life Back Together, For God’s Sake Project this year!

I’ve been thinking about my life lately and where I want to be a few years from now. This must have been what I lacked prior to entering college: vision. This isn’t a surprise since I got by high school just by exerting the minimum effort required. I blame my secondary education for a lot of things but failing to equip me with the right tools to face college is my favorite thing to blame them for.

When I was seventeen and naive, I expected my future self to be this hot shot college student who earns extra bucks on the side through tutoring high school students on Math. In my head, I’d be just the generic student: average and very forgettable. I think that’s why I spent a good two years trying to ‘find myself’ in college.

Now, I’m on the verge of ruining everything (again) and I’m trying really, really, really hard not to. This involves a lot of humble pie, hard work, and patience–just three of my many weaknesses. Still, I think making myself useful and getting a job instead of wasting my life on the couch is a good first step so good job, me!

I’m also taking legit steps in trying to achieve one of my biggest dreams: getting published. It used to be a fancy idea, something good to share with my friends whenever The Future was being talked about but at 22 (very near in going 23) I find the Stopwatch of Life ticking away the seconds off my life awfully fast.

This active chasing of my seemingly unattainable dream is all thanks to Writing 101. I entered the program with the hopes of just providing topics to write about so I could fill this blog up regularly but was surprised that I could actually churn out quite good writing almost everyday. The writing prompts also really made me pay attention to the ‘how’ of my writing. I’m not going to bore you about my silly book ideas and I’m still very, very unsure and insecure with the whole premise (and my writing, of course) so I’m not going to jinx it. I gave myself until the age of 30 to finish this hypothetical book and until early 30s to get it published (even younger!)

All of these introspection is because of Beyonce’s latest album. Damn, that girl can do anything! I excessively talked about Beyonce here.

I love whining about life. I could imagine myself being fifty or something and still find some introspective shit to whine about on the Internet.

2 thoughts on “Life Lately: Dreamz~* and Beyonce

Leave a Reply

