I Don’t Want To Live In A World Without UP RCY!!!!

I can’t think of an event that I really love that would leave me devastated. The annual college fair? Hm, I’d be shocked and maybe a bit angry but it wouldn’t affect me deeply. How about the monthly gigs I go to? Nope, I’d probably find another production house that could host my favorite local bands.

The only thing that would really leave a huge hole in my heart if it disappeared is my college org.

I know it isn’t an event but I don’t care. If ever there would come a time (PLEASE GOD DON’T LET THIS HAPPEN) when my org would cease to exist, I would personally march up to our tambayan and slap some sense in to its members. Annoying alumni be damned! You are not giving up on this org!

I’ve spent most of my college years as a member of the University of the Philippines Red Cross Youth or UP RCY. As with any other Red Cross Youth council, we do volunteer work to spread the advocacies of the Red Cross. I know that it’s a cliché to call your org your family but–fuck– it is absolutely and without a doubt a hundred percent true for me. They were there for me when I failed Math 63, they comforted me when my dad left, and they were always there to remind me to finish my thesis (which I still haven’t done).

when I was still one of the new members nyahahahaha
when I was still one of the new members nyahahahaha

UP RCY taught me how to push myself in doing something more. I have met the most passionate people in this org. They are the same people who are willing to give their time (and sometimes money!) just to get a project done. They stay up all night counting medicines and then (after just getting an hour of sleep) head off to another org event. They are the ones who have the balls to call out on your shitty performance even if you’re friends. They are the people who spend an entire day giving out medicines and then would stay afterwards for an hour long (sometimes longer!) evaluation of the activity just to make sure that the next event would be better.

It taught me how to be professional and interact with the aloof, the perky, and the weird. I have met guys who could talk about sports for so long, girls who spend an unhealthy amount of time fangirling over Benedict Cumberbatch, and people whose alcohol intake would rival Oktoberfest.

GA mtgs talking about biznes
GA mtgs talking about biznes

Most of my orgmates don’t know this but they were (and still are) my crutches that prevent me from going in a downward spiral. It would break my heart if this org would die. I can’t imagine the scenario wherein it might happen but the possibility is always there. It’s just so unfair that I get to meet another family when other people who won’t get to do the same.

"o tara basta photoshoot na tayo kelangan na natin ng pubmat!"
“o tara basta photoshoot na tayo kelangan na natin ng pubmat!”

This entry might sound like a huge ad for my org because it is. I might not be the most articulate when it comes to conveying my love for UP RCY but that’s just because there’s just no way I could encapsulate all of the lovable things about it in one blog entry. I’m so proud of UP RCY sometimes I get this faint twinge in my heart whenever I think about it. This org is definitely worth all of the sleepless nights, missed classes, and heated discussions.

Keep UP RCY alive, guys. It’s one of the best things that has ever happened to me. (Well, so far.)

As in tangina lang talaga. Wala na akong masasabi hahahaha.

:( FEELINGSSSSSSSSSSSSS
😦 FEELINGSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Writing 101, Day Fifteen: Your Voice Will Find You You’re told that an event that’s dear to your heart — an annual fair, festival, or conference — will be cancelled forever (or taken over by an evil organization). Write about it. For your twist, read your piece aloud, multiple times. Hone that voice of yours!

I know it’s supposed to be an event but this thought popped in to my head and just evoked so many feelings in me 😦 I tried writing about a cancelled show BUT LET’S NOT GO DOWN THAT DARK PATH. I know this isn’t as polished as what I’ve written before (wow??? hahahaha!) but THIS IS REAL THIS IS ME I’M EXACTLY WHERE I’M SUPPOSED TO BE

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Want To Live In A World Without UP RCY!!!!

Leave a Reply

