Twenty Years from Now

She adjusted the volume so that the bass shook the window glass a bit. Fuck neighbors.

With a glass of wine in one hand, she plopped down on the couch and opened her laptop. There were a couple from work reminding her of the unread depositions that took up most of her dining table, some forwarded pictures of cats from Piz and something from Mac.

From: Cindy Mackenzie <cindymackenzie@gmail.com>
To: me <veronicamars@gmail.com>
Subject: WILL YOU PLEASE SIGN UP FOR FACEBOOK

Veronica,

Will you sign-up for Facebook already? This hiding from the online world thinking is getting old! And I hate that I have to open my e-mail just to get a hold of you. Madison (yes, the demon spawn of satan Madison) created a Facebook group for our class. It’s mostly of pictures of 09er bitches and douchebags partying though. Nevertheless, it’s still nice to see how pathetic everyone’s lives turned out to be.

So how’s New York? Things are still (if not more) dreary here. Hey, remember that weird guy we had Journalism with? Stanley? His dad just died and now he’s inherited this whole farm. Anyway, I just remembered that time when he invited us over to ride some ponies and then you ended up getting kicked from behind and landing on shit. Stanley was pretty embarrassed. He always had the hots for you. Probably still has them, he kept on asking about you when I was working at Leona’s.

Will you please get your ass over here for our twenty year reunion? I promise that there will be lots of drama and backstabbing. Just like high school. Also, your dad misses you.

Expecting your cute butt over here,
Mac

P.S. I heard Top Gun will also be attending the reunion.
P.P.S. SIGN UP FOR FACEBOOK ALREADY.

She closed her laptop and rest her eyes, the now empty wine glass on her hand dangling from her fingers. Twenty years. Has it really been that long already?

Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What word jumps out at you? Start there, and try a twist: write in the form of a letter.

All of my books are in a different room so I ended up using one of my mom’s.

“Oh God! Oh shit! I got this shit all over me!” he yelled in panic. (Black Notice, 1999)

And yes, the characters are from Veronica Mars. I *think* it’s set twenty years after high school. The movie never happened. Also, Stanley is a new character. 😛

Oh crap. DID I JUST WRITE FANFICTION???????????????????? It started out with just me being lazy to think of new names! This is why I prefer nameless characters. :-<

3 thoughts on “Twenty Years from Now

Leave a Reply

