The Worst Hottest Day of the Summer

Of course, the electric company decided to start a rotational blackout during summer. It’s just perfect.

She woke up with a sheen of sticky sweat all over her body. With eyes half-open, her hands searched the bed of her phone. She hit play on her music player and let The Drums’ The Future slowly wake her up from her uncomfortable sleep.

Here I go again, getting upset over nothing…

She opened her messages and texted her.

Me: FUCK THIS COUNTRY. I’m coming over. Power’s out at my place. Fill your pool up. Tnx luv u

Her: Okay, grab some chips before you come here.

She felt a bit lightheaded as she walked the polluted streets. Summer didn’t just make everyone irritable and sweaty, it made students like her broke too. No school meant no allowance. She can’t even afford to get a cab these days. Nope, she’s stuck with crappy public transportation.

The radio blared out the local news: “Today is officially the hottest day yet this summer.”

Fuck. You. World.

After enduring almost an hour of jeepney novelty songs, she let herself in her backyard. She was already swimming laps.

“And I’m always, in your cage set me free.”

“Hey, I was just listening to them this morning!”

She laughed and waded her way towards the edge of the pool. “We are so meant to be.”

She knelt down and met her lips with hers. “You’re the best.”

She splashed her in response and did a little silly dance in the water.

She got up and her head spun. She put a hand on her forehead and her other on a table to steady herself.

“Hey, are you okay?”

“Fine. It’s just the heat.” she said as she sat down and reached for a glass of orange juice on the table.

The future…
Oh, the future

After a few deep breaths and two The Drums songs, she got up and took off her top, revealing a pink striped bikini.

She wolf-whistled jokingly. “Hubba, hubba!”

“Shut up!” she laughed.

She sat on the edge of the deep side of the pool, still feeling a bit woozy. “Hey, did you watch Orange Is The New Black’s second season already?”

“Yeah. They made a reference to The Smiths again!”

“YES! I have a new found love for Flaca and Maritza.”

“Is this because they kissed in the one episode?”

“No! Shut up!”

I don’t feel sorry when you cry
I don’t believe you when you lie

She made a mini-whirlpool by her hands, stuck in thought about nothing. Jonny Pierce’s voice filled the air along with the splashes of water.

“Don’t tell me you commuted all the way over here just to get your feet wet?”she asked, her eyebrows raised.

With her hand pinching her nose, she let herself fall in the water.

It took her friend exactly a minute and twenty-tree seconds to realize there was something wrong when she didn’t come up right away.

It will all end in tears
It will all end in tears
It will all end in tears

vlcsnap-2015-02-22-13h00m12s197

Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon Today, write a post with roots in a real-world conversation. For a twist, include foreshadowing.

I was having a hard time writing down the ending. I was trying to find a way to imply that the character has fainted. Did you get that she fainted? Or did it look like she drowned? I just feel like stating explicitly that she’s fainted is like talking down to the reader. 😦

Anyway, there are certain things in the story that are true in my life:

  1. I am still not over Orange Is The New Black. I need to talk about this with more people.
  2. I can’t believe it’s just now that I’ve appreciated The Drums’ The Future. 😥
  3. Our AC’s been broken for almost a year now and so’s my electric fan. Waking up all sticky and sweaty is now an everyday occurrence. 😦 YES I HAVE WHITE PEOPLE PROBLEMS OKAY 😦
  4. I have fainted once in my life. It was during a school first Friday mass when I was in elementary. Damn those long-sleeved gala uniforms!
6 thoughts on “The Worst Hottest Day of the Summer

  1. I thought she might have drowned, but it’s ambiguous. For me that’s fine. If that’s what you want, then it’s fine, too. If you’d prefer readers to believe she’s alive, after the faint, perhaps you’d need to make it clearer. Nicely written!

  2. I like the open ended-ness of your story. I could think of at least four possible ways things could go. As it is, this is much more that an account of the hottest day in summer. Good work.

    • Thank you! 🙂 I have this thing for open-ended stories; it’s probably my way of coping with the fact that I can never write a good sealed ending. 🙂

  3. I’m a lover of stories that leave much to the reader’s interpretation and that’s what I found here with your writing. There are a lot of things that one can pondered on other than did she drown or faint, and I enjoy that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

