Fastfood Quarrel

She sits up a little straighter. She cannot believe this little revelation.

Her: I can’t believe that we’ve known each other for years and I just found out about this now! THIS IS UNBELIEVABLE.

He moves an inch away from her from the sofa, his hands up in the air as if to surrender.

Him: Well, there was never really a time where it’s appropriate to bring up! Does this even matter?

Her face paints a look of utter disbelief.

Her: You do not understand. This is absolutely important in our relationship. I absolutely cannot be with you if you think like that.

He punches the sofa in a fit of laughter.

Him: YOU’RE UNBELIEVABLE. Are we really having a row about this? I just grew up with it, okay? I’m fine with either one, anyway.

She sighs exaggeratedly.

Her: Yeah, but you think McDonald’s is better! How can my boyfriend like McDonald’s better than Jollibee? THEIR CHICKEN SUCKS!

Him: Well, nobody likes Jollibee’s crispy fries! Not even you!

Her: Babe, I don’t go to Jollibee for their fries. I go to Jollibee for their burger steak, ultimate burger steak, their two piece Chickenjoy, and their 1 piece chickenjoy paired with Jolly Spaghetti. Do you know what makes me most excited when Holy Week comes? It’s Jollibee’s Tuna Pie. I COULD EAT EVERYTHING JOLLIBEE OFFERS. I would eat their stupid fries and runny sundaes if it means I’ll get a Chickenjoy out of it.

She’s on her feet now, pacing back and forth. It’s taking all of her willpower not to burst in to laughter.

Her: Why? What unfortunate event happened to you when you were little?

He let out another loud laugh. He made his way to the kitchen and poured himself a glass of water. She followed him, stomping her feet like a child.

Him: I told you, I just grew up with Happy Meals and McDonald’s. My family rarely ate at Jollibee when I was a kid. I even had my first birthday party at Mcdo.

Her: AND WHAT ABOUT OUR HYPOTHETICAL CHILD?

She stands on the opposite end of the kitchen counter, waiting for him to say something.

Him: OH MY GOD ARE YOU BEING SERIOUS RIGHT–

Her: WE’RE GOING TO SPEND MONTHS ARGUING WHERE TO CELEBRATE HER BIRTHDAY AND THEN WE LEARN WE’RE NOT REALLY A RIGHT FIT AND THEN WE’LL SPLIT UP AND THE SHE WILL END UP WITH NO PA–

Him: WAIT, WHAT? What the fuck? Jesus, you’re so crazy! And why do you just assume that our hypothetical child is a girl?

Her: WHY ARE YOU TELLING ME YOU WANT A BOY FOR OUR FIRST CHILD?

Him: SO WHAT IF I WANT IT TO BE A BOY

Her: I DON’T LIKE BOYS–

He flashes her a coy smile and waggles his eyebrows.

Him: Yeah, but you like me, don’t you?

She rolls her eyes. The corners of her mouth turns up ever so slightly. She can’t help it. He looks so cute.

Her: Yeah, but–

He walks slowly towards her with his arms outstretched.

Her: Okay, stop–

He hugs her from the side while she stands stiffly feigning annoyance.

Him: I love you.

Her: I love you too.

Him: You’re so crazy.

She turns and faces him. She mimics his voice and waggles her eyebrows.

Her: Yeah, but you like me don’t you?

Writing 101, Day Seven: Give and Take Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.

I ended up writing three dialogues but this was the one that really got me pumped up to write. The rejects were inanimate objects arguing who’s more important and the other were two servants arguing defending their favorite child from upstairs (inspired from Carson and Mrs. Hughes from Downton Abbey)

TEAM JOLLIBEE
TEAM JOLLIBEE
8 thoughts on “Fastfood Quarrel

  1. I have nothing against Jollibee or McDo.. but I also prefer McDo over Jollibee… Although, I would take Palabok fiesta anytime over McDo… hahaha! 🙂

    • I failed to put all of the reasons why I hate McDonald’s in this post. LOL I’ll just save it for another challenge, just in case we’re to write about fastfood restaurants. LOL

      Ugh Palabok 😦 Ugh, now I’m craving for some Palabok!

    • Thank you! I started out writing a really serious lovers quarrel but then changed my mind to writing about those fights that you pick just because. :p

Leave a Reply

