If Only ‘I Want To Be Your Friend’ Doesn’t Sound Creepy

This girl was everywhere.

I.

She was at the roasted chicken place when I was cramming for my Political Science final. I was hunched over a pile of readings when my eyes got covered by some stranger’s hands. It was her. She helped herself with some of my mashed potato as she told me how exhausted she was with PE class. She was wearing the usual gym clothes, complete with a ponytail reinforced by a headband.

I found it weird and felt a bit touched that she’d do that. We weren’t that close when we were in elementary. I mean, sure, her friends were kind enough to invite me over at their table during lunch but we weren’t put-your-hands-over-my-eyes kind of close. It’s nice that she still acts like that perky and friendly thirteen year old I knew.

She looked nice with red lipstick.

II.

I was the one who said hello to her during the indie film festival. She was in front of the line with her boyfriend. (I recognized him from her Facebook profile) Through the sea of people in line, I saw her colorful floral dress and her huge camera hanging from her neck. I knew she was the artsy type. Not in a really pretentious look-at-my-huge-ass-camera way but in a go-to-a-museum-trip-and-see-the-world kind of way.

She flashed a huge grin and waved back at me.

III.

We hugged when we met during a gig. She was wearing a white lace-y top paired with a black bandage skirt. And pearls. It was different from what everyone was wearing: ripped tank tops or long beach-y dresses with strings on their foreheads. What do you even call those? Forehead headbands?

She offered me a beer and I politely declined. She grabbed my hand and made me take the beer. After a quick exchange of how are yous and what band are you seeings, she went back to her friends.

She gave me a quick beso and said good-bye.

Writing 101, Day Six: A Character-Building Experience Today, you’ll write about the most interesting person you’ve met in 2014. In your twist, develop and shape your portrait further in a character study.

I wanted to not write about the usual topics of my blog entries (i.e. past loves) so choosing a person to write about was extremely hard. I also had to force myself not to resort to writing about a fictional character. 😛

Anyway, I don’t think that I managed to describe my character well. I always put in what clothes she was wearing, though. I don’t know, I just felt how she dressed was an important part of who she was. AGHHH IT JUST MAKES SENSE IN MY HEAD OK

Leave a Reply

