Life Lately: Summer Cross-stitching

I feel so bad that I never had the time (or willingness) to update this blog over the summer. Aside from random hangouts with friends and my summer Baguio trip (which I’ll write about in the future, I promise), all I’ve been doing is marathoning TV series and immersing myself in my new addiction: cross-stitching.

I’m lucky that my mom’s a serious cross-stitcher so I knew that the money I spent on threads and materials won’t be wasted because it’d be the two of us who could use it. My mom’s been stitching all my life and you can see the proof when you visit our house. The wall’s laden with all of her projects: the Holy Family, The Last Supper, the alphabet, and your staple nature patterns.

Anyway, I started out with two small kits from DMC that I bought as a gift to my friend who was graduating, and another friend who was angry with me. After finishing both patterns, I ventured to fandom patterns. So far, I finished a cute Sherlock and Watson pattern, an LSP, Pac-Man, and the TARDIS. I even made my own pattern of the Bones logo for my friend Naida.

LSP!!!!!! Mwahahaha

A post shared by Redg Camarse (@paintitredg) on

Yayyyyyyyyyy

A post shared by Redg Camarse (@paintitredg) on

@naidafelicia mehehehehe :'(

A post shared by Redg Camarse (@paintitredg) on

Now, I’m working on this huge (13 page!!!!) Hogwarts Crest pattern I got from Leaky Cauldron and I’m proud to say that I am 1/3 done!!!

2 legit 2 quit

A post shared by Redg Camarse (@paintitredg) on

It’s not as neat as it can be but it’s pretty neat. No other pictures until it’s finished!

There are also some pretty cool patterns at Etsy but I won’t buy anything else yet until I’ve finished this big project. At the rate that I’m going, I could probably finish this before October! (That is with all things considered, with school and work, etc!)

I know it sounds incredibly boring but I find that cross-stitching weirdly calming. And at least it gives my brain something to do other than absorb all the drama I have to watch on the TV. I usually do all of my stitching while marathoning Bones, Downton Abbey, or Parks and Recreation. This is usually in the afternoon until the wee hours of the morning because, naturally, my body clock got messed up this summer. I usually sleep at around 4 or 5 in the morning and then wake up later in the afternoon. (This became a bit of a problem because my friends usually invite me at around lunch time so they don’t get any replies from me up until 2 or 3 in the afternoon.)

This is one of my most productive summers for my couch potato self. I managed to finish Orphan Black (and keep up with the recent episodes!) and Orange Is The New Black. I’ve only got a couple episodes of Parks and Recreation and Downton Abbey left. And I’m only just two seasons behind Bones which is saying something since I only started watching this summer. There are also quite a number of movies I’ve watched this summer but I’ll just save that for another post. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Life Lately: Summer Cross-stitching

    • It’s really, really easy! If you find a pattern that you like it’s not that hard to get addicted to it! 🙂

  1. Loving your stitching! I totally get what you mean about cross stitching being relaxing, it’s my total chill out craft and helps me deal with stress so much!

    • Aww, thank you! I’m so excited to finish this project so that I can go work on another. I’m dreading when my classes start again for fear of having no time for my project. 😦

      • Yeah work gets in my way with all my crafting too! I try and make sure to at least have an hour a day doing something crafty be it crochet or cross stitching but it doesn’t always work out that way 😦

Leave a Reply

