Litter and Loiter

vlcsnap-2015-02-22-12h56m51s223

I.

You walked out the door 37 minutes ago
and all your shit was littered all over the apartment
a superhero doll, five cassette tapes of your demos
a blank pad of paper, your Sharpie collection

On the dresser was the necklace
I gave you when you turned nineteen
six pairs of basketball shoes and a pair of pink boxers
On the wall, a polaroid of us during New Year’s

There’s also your favorite yellow shirt
that read, “My girlfriend farted.”
freshly laundered, hung outside to dry
curiously, you scent still lingers.

A bottle of canned pineapple juice
a half-eaten burger and a tub of ice cream
On the door, a pink post-it with the words:
“Don’t forget that I love you.”

II.

The wind cruelly slapped my skin sore
I was numb
inside and out

I pass by the movie theater on the corner of Dustin’s
Bakery, where you finger fucked me during Scary Movie 3.
I get stared at by the ticket booth lady. Did she
recognize me? I swear, I never screamed your name out.

The sky grew dark but the stars didn’t show
I took a seat at the metal bench
I looked up to the heavens and dug my fingernails
into my hands. I wanted it to bleed.

The wind cruelly slapped my skin sore
I was numb
inside and out

Leave a Reply

