Suspend the classes and the sun will shine.

My mom woke me up around 7AM this morning and told me to go check if I have classes. I went online and I was greeted with a huge wave of suspension of classes announcements for high school and UST. My hopes soared. If UST suspended their classes already that means it’s that bad, right?

Well, apparently, UP didn’t think so. As the rain poured hard, I kept one eye on my laptop, waiting for an official announcement from UP. Alas, after several waterproof jokes and hirits from people on Facebook, and hilarious tweets from the fake Twitter account of UP Diliman’s chancellor Caesar Saloma, Chancy stood his ground and said that since Katipunan and Philcoa are still passable, classes are NOT suspended.

I tried reviewing for my 160 exam. At around 9AM, my French classmate texted me that there will be no French class for today. YAY FOR MORE TIME TO STUDY /nerdalert

At around 12PM, I just knew that UP will suspend their classes. They just have to. Then, Chancy said that if (emphasis on the if) students cannot go to school because of impassable roads then they are excused in their classes.

Let me point out just a few problems with this solution:

  • How would they know the roads would be impassable? What about people who are more than a ride away from campus? How are they supposed to know that the streets are flooded?
  • THAT’S TOTALLY UNFAIR I MEAN WE HAVE AN EXAM YOU MEAN TO SAY THAT IF MY CLASSMATES LIVED IN SOME FLOODED AREA THEY ARE ALLOWED TO TAKE A MAKE-UP EXAM?
  • It’s like saying “O sorry na lang sa mga pinalad na hindi binaha pero kelangan niyo pumasok”
  • WHAT
  • THE
  • FUCK

It’s a good thing Exec Sec Ochoa took matters in to his own hands and just cancelled all classes. THANK YOU. And I don’t care if it stopped raining in the afternoon. At least he’s got the balls to just cancel classes. It’s such a slap to UP but whatever. Their hesitance and indecisiveness drove me crazy.

To life up my spirits, I had Tanduay Ice, Magic Flakes and Veronica Mars for merienda.

Leave a Reply

