On being so fucking concerned

Friends are not perfect. No matter how many many times you scold them or scare them with cautionary tales, whatever decision they will make is still their decision. If ever the day comes when they will finally do what you’ve been telling them, trust me, there is a small chance that they’re doing it just to make you happy.

I’m far from perfect. My friends sometimes don’t approve of my mean attitude and jaded outlook in life and they most certainly are against my vices. I have received tons of messages and been through numerous conversations where my friends would tell me that they’re worried and/or disappointed with me and that if they had the power to control me they would probably make me quit alcohol and cigarettes.

I understand these people. I know they’re worried and I am touched that they actually care enough to talk to me about it. What I love the most is that they know they have done their part just by expressing their concern. They know the decision to stop going home drunk at 3AM and exhausting my lungs is still up to me.

I absolutely hate it when people are ‘concerned’ about me and talk about it with other people. If you really are genuinely concerned say it to my face. Don’t go yammering on about how you’re so worried about me to other people. Dropping hints might also work since I’m not dense. Putting on a fake smile and pretending you don’t want to say something does not help. I’m not a fucking mind reader.

Leave a Reply

