Of stolen glances and unwanted eye contact

It’s so fucking awkward when I sneak a glance at you and you’re staring intently in her eyes with your forehead touching hers. It’s so awkward when my eyes meet your girlfriend’s when you (unsuccesfully) try to discreetly kiss her stomach. (You were sitting down and she was standing) It’s so awkward when everyone was joking about past loves and all three of us were just keeping our mouths shut because we know nobody would dare mention the huge elephant in the room. It’s so awkward when I gave your girlfriend a tentative smile when I just gave up ignoring both of you completely because it’s so much harder than sucking it up and plastering on a smile on my face. It’s so awkward when I look for you in the crowd and you have your arms around her and I quickly look away only to find my friend observing me disapprovingly.

Basically, everything is so awkward because I know that you know I still have leftover feelings. You also know that I know that you probably don’t think about me that much. Sucks, really.

One thought on “Of stolen glances and unwanted eye contact

Leave a Reply

